23 Comments
Sep 23, 2021Liked by Sunshine + Microbes

Liquid smoke - I see it in recipes, but it sounds so chemical-laden that I always leave it out. I have recently read it's not the devil I thought, so I think I'll pick some up.

Expand full comment

Zatar - I bought the spice thinking I would use it almost every day in a variety of dishes. We all liked the flavor when we had it in a restaurant but once I had it home, I could not figure out when and where to use it without changing the flavor of the dish so much that my family would not eat what I had prepared.

Expand full comment

Harissa. I can't even remember the original recipe I bought it for!

Expand full comment

I just found a jar of tamarind puree and one of apple butter.

Expand full comment

1) juniper berries (something not gin!) 2) sumac

Expand full comment

Dried enoki mushrooms & pomegranate molasses. If I could just figure out some way to use them together!

Expand full comment

How about Major Greys Chutney. I made Coronation Chicken with it in the past but would like to try a new recipe using it. But Coronation Chicken is so delicious, maybe should just make that again.

Expand full comment

I’ve got an unopened jar of Liquid Smoke that has sat in my spice cabinet for at least 18 months.

Expand full comment

sumac!

Expand full comment